Traveling with the Red Epic

I just returned from a multi-state trip where we had to transport my Red Epic and all accessories (minus tripod) with us. It went really well – no hassles with TSA, no gear damaged and all went well on the shoot. A number of friends had expressed interest in hearing how it went so here was our strategy.

1. Carry on anything you are worried about luggage handlers dropping. For this I find the Pelican 1510 to be my favorite option. http://www.pelican.com/cases_detail.php?Case=1510 For my main Epic body case I use a padded 1510 with the liner organizer. In this I could fit the Epic body, 2x LCDs, 2x batteries, 1x charger, ND filters, all the important cables and the Red SSD reader. 

My AC, Jerry Turner, then carried on a 1510 with custom foam cut to hold three of my Red Pro Primes. I couldn’t trust my main primes to being checked in. Image

 

2. Check in a jumbo bag of accessories. In this went my Oconnor matte box, the dovetail, small LEDS, follow focus and more. For this I used the Kata OMB-77 bag, which is a nice big bag that can fit all my needed gear without being too big for check-in. I just now checked and it appears Kata discontinued this bag, which I think is a huge mistake as I love this piece of kit. In fact, it held so much that I exceeded my 50lb limit and had to start putting heavy items (dovetail, cardellini, etc) in my main clothing checkin. Image

3. Fly in a team. My AC carried on the 1510 of the lenses and since we wanted to bring more lenses, we put the 300mm, 14mm and 8mm carefully in his AC kit checkin bag. This made a huge difference. 

4. Think through your battery strategy. First I carefully read this document: http://www.faa.gov/about/office_org/headquarters_offices/ash/ash_programs/hazmat/aircarrier_info/media/airline_passengers_and_batteries.pdf

Then I devised a plan: I’d put 2 of the Red Bricks in the 1510 carry on with my Red Epic, then two in my Kata check-in, then my final 2 Red Bricks would go in my AC’s check-in. We made sure that EVERY battery was installed on either a charger, camera, light or battery plate.

5. TSA. Thankfully we had no issues at all with them other then the leaflets alerting us that they had somehow checked/manhandled our gear. In the main security line they didn’t even ask to have any of the cameras powered on. I was expecting conversation, swabbing, powering on cameras and all that and nothing happened. Granted I was only in the Portland, OR and Las Vegas airports, so perhaps that is a factor. Image

6. Your mileage may vary. A friend was traveling with his Epic in similar fashion (main body in the 1510) and successfully got through 3 airports before a US Airways agent got testy and forced him into checking his Epic in because she thought the 1510 “looked heavy”. I’m not sure what the strategy is for fighting this. I had no problems carrying on both my 1510s and putting them in the overhead compartments.

7. Don’t bother bringing a tripod. Unless you are there for an entire feature, it makes more sense to rent one locally then to bring one.

8. Bring any must-have gels. Thankfully we thought through what gels we’d really need and packed them. We thought of one more we’d like (party red) and the rental house didn’t have any gels at all and we were unable to ever stop at a place that would have them. Thankfully we had brought all that we really needed.

And lastly… lens wraps are your friend! For those who don’t know this wonderful little things, they are padded cloth with velcro at each corner that facilitates packing things, like lenses or LCDs or even just padding things out. I think we used four of them. I even used one to wrap my Arri follow focus in the main checkin bag. http://www.filmtools.com/lilewrthsi.html

I hope this was at least food for thought. Traveling to new locations with your kit is a lot of fun once you’re there. Transpo, not so much. But think through it and you should be fine.

 

Leave a comment